Me and my Pavlova

Christmas for me had turned into an exciting exercise of food planning.  Once I got the gifts figured out for all my loved ones, I set my mind into making something new, something good and something that brings a smile onto everyone’s face.  This year, I decided to tackle the Pavlova.

I browsed through the internet and found a few deliciously looking recipes.   The Allrecipes.com site  and Donna Hay’s recipes caught my eyes.

I went through both recipes, picking tips and proportions to come up with my own. I preferred less thickness in the marshmallow center of the meringue shell and also less sugar. I also thought that the sweetness of the meringue should be counterbalanced with something really tart, thus came the cranberry syrup. I also saw that some recipes use passion fruit to add tartness. For Chrismas, I opted for kiwi and raspberries for color.

Carolyn’s Pavlova

5 Egg whites, beaten till stiff peaks

3/4 cup of super fine sugar

2 Tablespoons of corn starch

2 teaspoons of white vinegar

a pinch of salt

Cranberry frozen concentrated juice

Kiwi, raspberries and blackberries

-Preheat oven to 350F.

-Beat the egg whites till stiff peaks. Gradually beat in sugar, one tablespoon at a time. Rub the egg whites between your fingers to feel if the sugar has completely dissolved.

-Whisk in the cornstarch, salt and vinegar.

-On a parchment with a 9″ circle drawn on the back side, construct the shell. Make a slightly depressed center. Pipe any kind of decorative border around the perimeter.

-Turn the oven down to 250F.  Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

-Cool the cake in the oven. Do not remove until completely cool otherwise the shell will crack.

-Reduce the cranberry juice till the sauce thickens into a syrup.

-Before serving, garnish the shell with fruits, top with syrup and voila!

On a second trial,I added creme patissiere in the meringue well, arranged  kiwi and mandarin oranges on top and had good reception as well. I guess I can’t go wrong with this wonder.  Next, I will add flavoring such as peppermint to the meringue shell and garnish with chocolate… The choices are endless with this dessert. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

