Persimmon Savory Tart

I woke up this morning and saw clear sky, little clouds and a promising Sunday with little to do according to my datebook.  This is the day I saved to allow myself some laziness and self pampering  after that big feast yesterday when I had my family over for Thanksgiving lunch.

The body is a pure design wonder.  I ate so much yesterday and still managed to feel a slow hunger that gnawed at me this morning.  I scavenged and foraged my refrigerator and decided to skimp over the leftovers.  Someone had brought over a bunch of very large persimmons that were begging to be mauled.  I took a look at what other items I didn’t use yesterday and found some mushroom, my favorite cheese, a brand new package of peppered bacon and thought why not make a persimmon savory tart?  The persimmons had just the right intense orange color for fall.  A savory tart would start my day with a proper brunch.

Persimmon Savory Tart

3/4 of a Fuyu persimmon – sliced

Fromager D’ Affinois cheese

A handful of mushroom – lightly sauteed in butter

A handful of artichoke hearts

Puff pastry sheet – thawed

1 egg yolk

2 slices of Peppered bacon – cooked and chopped

Preheat the oven at 400 F.  Lay the puff pastry sheet out, cut 1/2″ strips and make a border by laying the strips at the outer edge of the pastry sheet.  Prick the middle of the sheet with a fork. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden. Remove pastry from oven.

Dice enough cheese and mix with egg yolk to make a cup of cheese mixture.

Arrange the persimmon slices, artichoke hearts, and mushrooms on the baked pastry.  Spoon the egg and cheese mixture over the top.  Sprinkle bacon on top.

Bake in the oven for another 10 minutes till the cheese is completely melted.  Serve with salad.

The sweetness of the persimmon balanced well with the cheese.  The saltiness of the bacon was just right.  My Sunday just started on a savory note.  My blog awaited…

One thought on “Persimmon Savory Tart

  1. dear TP,

    it’s been a while since i have a chance to revisit your blog …

    thank you for keeping it up … so now and then, when i do have a moment, i have something enjoyable to read and needless to say … admire my dear friend for her wonderful, beauuuuutiful work …

    many thanks dearest TP …

    and now … if i could only have you nearby so you could give me a hand in shaping up both my house and my parents’ house :))))

    love,

    t-n

Leave a Reply

